Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin
× Welcome to the CPL Air Law question and answer forum. Please feel free to post your questions but more importantly also suggest answers for your forum colleagues. Bob himself or one of the other tutors will get to your question as soon as we can.

Airlaw passed - 100% and tips for others

• SJM
  • Topic Author

SJM created the topic: Airlaw passed - 100% and tips for others

I'm stoked to say I wrapped up my last CPL exam (Air Law) with a 100% mark.
I studied the Bob Tait Air Law book, used the extracts and completed the exam prep.

My generic tips for this exam are
1. Know where to look for an answer EVEN if you know the answer. The exam may ask you an variant that you don't know the answer to and need to look up (e.g the meaning of JO with reference to time in the ERSA)

2. Air law is about legal definitions (e.g. CAO 48.1 2019) read and understand section 6 - don't skimp on common terms that you think you know. In other areas, understand the difference between a Report and a Broadcast, understand the difference between cloud base and ceiling (the exam may not ask you the definition, but when two answers look similar, its this type of definition misunderstanding that can get you)

3. When doing exercises in the book, hide the reference in the question, and force yourself to explore the CAO, CASR, CARs, AIP and ERSA. It will be slow going, but you'll get a feel for where things are location. Depending on the current AIP amendment, references move around so the examples given in the book might be off anyway. Also study the table of context of the AIP ENR, understand within the table of contents where items fit in which section. This helps to overcoming the situation where you REMEMBER its in the AIP contents somewhere but can't remember where and you lose time searching