Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin

My final results and some helpful hints

• Aviatordan
  • Topic Author

Aviatordan created the topic: My final results and some helpful hints

G'day everyone,

Firstly, let me start off by thanking Bob and Richard (and all those other kind people) for not only putting up with but thoroughly answering all my questions during my time studying for the CPL. It was like I was in the class room and could just put my hand up whenever I had something that needed some further explanation.

Over the last 7 months I have completed one exam a month and here are my final results:
- HPL: 88%
- Air Law: 98%
- AGK: 93%
- MET: 93%
- NAV: 88%
- Aerody: 85%
- Performance: 94%

I have a few tips and tricks that I used throughout my study:
- Take your own notes. I studied in front of the computer with the book on a stand in front of me. I just wrote the heading and took dot points covering all the important aspects of the topic. All totalled I averaged about 30 pages per subject.
- Limit the amount of study per day to manageable amounts. It's better to take in a relatively small amount and know it well than a large amount and struggle with the concepts.
- Don't do the practice exercises on the day you covered that topic. The key to memory is repititon. If you do the practice exercises the day after you covered the topic you will be refreshing your memory, thus helping to store it in your long term memory.
- When you do the exercises, don't write in the book, do them in a work book. Not only will you have room to take notes on questions you got wrong but you will be able to go through the book at the end of the topic and do the exercises again without being able to see the answers.
- Study with the syllabus next to you. Remember that CASA can only test what's in the syllabus. Mark things off as you go, and at the end of the subject go through the syllabus and highlight areas you may need to take a refresher on.