Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin
× Welcome to the IREX question and answer forum. Please feel free to post your questions but more importantly also suggest answers for your forum colleagues. Bob himself or one of the other tutors will get to your question as soon as we can.

General Questions

• FlyingThereAndBack
  • Topic Author

FlyingThereAndBack created the topic: General Questions

Hi Bob, I have now finished your text and cyber exams, and have kept all my questions till now. I'm sorry if I bombard you with questions here, but this covers everything I'm not too sure about, your help would be much appreciated, and hopefully will help others too. The text I studied is July 2011

1. If no TAF is available, and you are using an ARFOR to determine alternate requirements, and for example low cloud base is expected to rise 20 minutes before your ETA, there is no 30 minute buffer period according to AIP right?

2. Question 19 page 4.15 asks for compulsury reporting points. What exactly does it mean on the ERC map legend by saying the triangles with squares around them are required report points from DESIGNATED flights. Also if you are flying VFR along an ERC route, none of these reporting points apply right?

3. Why is it that LOC approaches have lower minimums than VOR, aren't they essentially the same thing?

4. Question 42 page 5.73 states you must add 50 feet to the published MDA of an aerodrome which has no TAF applied; However DAP EAST page 1-3 para 1.11 states that aerodromes with no regular TAF already has this factored in, and only aerodromes where a regular TAF is provided but is not available should this AIP requirement be factored in by the pilot?