Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin
× Welcome to the IREX question and answer forum. Please feel free to post your questions but more importantly also suggest answers for your forum colleagues. Bob himself or one of the other tutors will get to your question as soon as we can.

Passsed the IREX - Some Tips for study and PIFR vs IREX

• sonwill
  • Topic Author

sonwill created the topic: Passsed the IREX - Some Tips for study and PIFR vs IREX

A Big Thanks to Bob Tait and his team, I passed my IREX exam yesterday with 88%!
I am a private pilot, doing this on my own time.

I was looking to do the PIFR exam, but decided to complete the IREX exam instead. There were two main drivers for me, the fist was that there really isn't any decent study material/guides for the PIFR exam. It was very difficult to get a reliable (up to date) source of truth of what the exam covered. Also the pass rate for the PIFR exam in 2018 was 48% compared to 79.56% in the IREX, further highlighting to me the lack of training material. (ref www.casa.gov.au/standard-page/australia-wide-pass-rates)
The second reason was i felt the IREX was more comprehensive, and covers everything I would need when doing the private IR rating. It also removes any question of knowledge gaps, and flight school developed round exams, in the future should I choose to add a FPA (such as GNSS, ILS, ETC) to the Private IR rating.
Also, I am now leaning towards doing the full Command IR rating as I can use it internationally, but I can decide later.

I self studied at home using the IREX course Videos, the online E-Text and exam prep. Although I studied over many months on an ad-hoc basis, I did focused study after work and across weekends for 4 weeks solid.
The videos are fantastic, and you really get the 'class room experience'. I really followed along as if I was in the class, doing the exercises as 'home work', and doing the review videos following along.